Powell, Williams headline Jamaican squad to World Indoors

first_imgFormer 100m world record holder Asafa Powell and World Championships 100m hurdles champion Danielle Williams headline a 24 – member team announced by the Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association (JAAA) to compete at next week’s IAAF World Indoor Championships in Portland, Oregon. The team also features hurdling standout Omar McLeod, who has had success on the indoor circuit for the University of Arkansas, Odean Skeen and Kemoy Campbell on the male side, with World Champs 200m silver medal winner Elaine Thompson, Stephenie-Ann McPherson and Simone Facey all named in the female squad. Trevor Campbell will accompany the team as Team Leader with the official delegation also featuring Marvin Anderson (team official), Merlene Hamilton (team official), Jason Strachan (team doctor), Fitz Coleman (technical leader), Maurice Westney (coach), Mark Elliot (coach), Alvin Green (masseur) and Morine Dawson (masseuse). (Female): Simone Facey, Elaine Thompson, Chrisann Gordon, Patricia Hall, Stephenie Ann McPherson, Natoya Goule, Samantha Scarlett, Danielle Williams, Shanieka Thomas, Salcia Slack, Anneisha McLaughlin, Verone Chambers, Ronda Whyte (Male): Asafa Powell, Kevaughn Rattray, Odean Skeen, Ricardo Chambers, Fitzroy Dunkley, Kemoy Campbell, Omar McLeod, Nathon Allen, Dane Hyatt, Demar Murray, Demish Gaye.last_img read more

Read More →