India to expand evisas to 150 countries from March 2016

first_imgDr Mahesh Sharma, India’s Minister for Tourism, Culture & Civil Aviation recently confirmed that India will expand its e-Tourist Visa scheme to 150 countries in March 2016.Over 150,000 people from 76 countries have used to e-Tourist Visa since its launch in November last year. Applicable visitors can apply for the visas online prior to arrival in India, and then collect their visas upon entry at nine airports in the country.At the same time, Dr Sharma also revealed that India’s tourist helpline will be expanded to 12 international languages within two months. The helpline is currently operational in just two languages: English and Hindi.Under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, India’s government is focusing on its tourism industry, with an aim of attracting one percent of the global tourist arrivals.last_img read more

Read More →