American Academy elects 20 faculty

first_imgTwenty from Harvard are among the 212 new members elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies and a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy studies of science and technology policy, global security, social policy, and American institutions, the humanities, and education.Since its founding in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock, and other scholar-patriots, the academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the 18th century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the 19th, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the 20th. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.Among the 2011 class of scholars, scientists, writers, and artists, and civic, corporate, and philanthropic leaders are winners of the Nobel, Pulitzer, and Pritzker Prizes; the Turing Award; MacArthur and Guggenheim fellowships; Kennedy Center Honors; and Grammy, Golden Globe, and Academy awards.The new class will be inducted at an Oct. 1 ceremony at the academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.The fellows from Harvard follow:James Ireland Cash Jr., James E. Robison Professor of Business Administration Emeritus, Harvard Business SchoolTimothy J. Colton, Morris and Anna Feldberg Professor of Government and Russian StudiesDavid Paul Corey, professor of neurobiology, Harvard Medical SchoolGeorge Q. Daley, professor of biological chemistry and molecular pharmacology; professor of pediatrics, Harvard Medical SchoolPhilip A. Fisher, Felice Crowl Reid Professor of EnglishJulio Frenk, dean of the Harvard School of Public Health; T & G Angelopoulos Professor of Public Health and International DevelopmentAnnette Gordon-Reed, professor of law; Carol Pforzheimer Professor at the Radcliffe Institute; professor of history in the Faculty of Arts and SciencesDaniel Arie Haber, Kurt J. Isselbacher/Peter B. Schwartz Professor of Oncology, Harvard Medical SchoolRobert F. Higgins, senior lecturer of business administration, Harvard Business SchoolJay Harold Jasanoff, Diebold Professor of Indo-European Linguistics and PhilologyFarish Alston Jenkins Jr., professor of biology and curator of vertebrate paleontology; Alexander Agassiz Professor of Zoology; professor of anatomyAlex S. Jones, director of the Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy; Laurence M. Lombard Lecturer in the Press and Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy SchoolFrances Myra Kamm, Littauer Professor of Philosophy and Public Policy, professor of philosophy, Harvard Kennedy SchoolThomas Forrest Kelly, Morton B. Knafel Professor of MusicRobert E. Kingston, professor of genetics, Harvard Medical SchoolDavid Laibson, Robert I. Goldman Professor of EconomicsLouis Menand, Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor of EnglishW. Jason Morgan, visiting scholar, Department of Earth and Planetary SciencesMichael R. Van Valkenburgh, Charles Eliot Professor in Practice of Landscape Architecture, Harvard Graduate School of DesignDaniel Martin Wegner, John Lindsley Professor of Psychology in Memory of William JamesFor a complete list of the new academy members.last_img read more

Read More →